At the Heart of Every Orange is a Creamsicle

Minneola Orange Creamsicle Cookies

get-attachment-75

get-attachment-78

One thing I noticed about this recipe was that it did not make mention of vanilla extract. I found that quite odd, and still decided to take a chance on them. After making my adaptations (in bold below), I cannot imagine what the cookie would have been like missing an emulsion or extract. In addition, I was a little worried that 2 1/4 cups of flour would prevent the cookies from being chewy, and make them more cake-like, however that did not seem to be the case. I guess that is how it goes – you risk the upset to get where you want to be, and in this case, it was to experiment and give it a go no matter how it turned out. Luckily, they baked wonderfully!

Adapted from: http://www.sprinklewithflour.com/2012/02/orange-creamsicle-cookies.html

(I am almost positive this is not an adapted recipe {only by the change of substituting white chocolate chips for vanilla chips}, but merely a replica, or an adoption of a recipe, found in The Magnolia Bakery Cookbook, but I will give this blogger credit anyway.)

Original recipe: http://www.bakespace.com/recipes/detail/Orange-Vanilla-Chip-Cookies/9980/

get-attachment-69

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, sifted

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

Dash of ground cinnamon

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, slightly softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed

brown egg (Eggland’s Best)

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp orange bakery emulsion (which I found at HomeGoods)

Zest of 2 Minneola oranges [about 4 to 5 tbsp] (I really enjoy the bright, orange color of them, but its up to preference)

Juice from 1/2 of a zested orange

1 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with Silpats or parchment paper.

2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Whisk together and set aside.

get-attachment-72

3. In a separate large bowl, cream together butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.

4. Add egg and beat until combined.

get-attachment-74

5. Add vanilla extract and orange bakery emulsion (optional).

6. Add flour mixture and beat on low speed until well incorporated.

7. Add orange zest and orange juice and beat to distribute.

get-attachment-73

get-attachment-76

8. Stir in white chocolate chips.

get-attachment-71

9. Use a cookie scoop or tablespoon to drop in rounded spoonfuls on cookie sheets, leaving plenty of room between cookies to allow for some spreading (at least 2 inches).

10. Bake for 9 to 10 minutes until light golden brown. Cool for 1 minute on cookie sheets and then transfer to wire racks to cool completely.

get-attachment-67

Verdict: 

This recipe needs a flavoring extract and/or an emulsion. Maybe it is just my preference to add an ingredient or two that would seemingly bring out the flavors out a bit more, but I was worried the dough would have been too thick and dense to bake evenly. The white chocolate chips added a smoothness that without, the cookie would have been missing an underlying sweet tone. It adds a nice depth of texture, and eases any acidity. The ones I experimented with, disregarding the white chocolate chips, were still tasty, but were a bit too pungent for my liking. I am not much of an orange girl (although I am definitely fruity) and these really drove my taste buds wild. These cookies reminded me of being at summer day camp – in the midsts of the moments when we would concoct ice cream sundaes and during the afternoons when we would receive popsicles, splitting them in half, and trading half of one for half a vanilla popsicle with amongst one another, to make our own mix and matched creamsicles. Overall, this recipe needed a bit of adapting, but was surprisingly delightful. For a nice spring or summery treat, this cookie would lend very well to a vanilla ice cream or a strong cup of coffee.

get-attachment-77

4 thoughts on “At the Heart of Every Orange is a Creamsicle

  1. I’m intrigued. What exactly is orange emulsion? I like orange but the hubby isn’t a fan. I made him a blood orange-almond meal cake and it had great fluffy texture and a pronounced orangey taste but was a bit on the bitter side. I’m sure the fact that it called for puréeing 2 entire oranges (skin, pith, and flesh) didn’t help.

    • I had no idea what emulsions were either until I looked it up and experimented with it for myself. What I learned from Google (of course) was that emulsions are water-based, as in comparison to flavoring extracts which have alcohol in them. They are much more potent and more stabilized during changes in temperature. Apparently the vegetable gums in the emulsion bases help retain more flavor. Indeed they are quite common in many baked goods, that is because the flavoring doesn’t “bake out”, as compared to other extracts. I’d guess the aromatic oils from the oranges’ rind gave it a bit of a pungent taste and smell. The puréeing of the oranges probably extracted an intense flavor, but probably gave the cake that nice texture. I would believe an emulsion, minus perhaps 1 orange, could give it the same kick you are looking for but without the acidity. That was what I was concerned about while making these cookies. But, you cook and learn! I’m sure it still was delicious 😛 Did it call for any extracts in the recipe?

      • Good to know, thanks for sharing your finds. No extracts. I’m thinking that maybe orange juice + orange emulsion would give me orange flavor without the excessive bitterness of the pith since the recipe had you purée 2 entire oranges.

Leave a Reply

