Natura

This poem is to be turned into a song to be accompanied by an acoustic guitar. I was inspired to write this when I was at a cafe called Natura in Orlando, Florida. It was open mic night and a young Asian female, from a foreign country but living in Seattle, spilled her heart and shared her voice on stage. Her songs were beautiful, her musical talents were amazing and I was floored at how wonderfully she sang. This is only a rough draft, but I want to share my first version to show the process. I am not a song writer, nor do I even know how to play guitar. But this is to remind myself and others that anything is possible. One day, I will learn how to flawlessly strum a guitar. One day, I will record this. And one day, hopefully, I will be able to rack up the courage to sing in front of an audience, just like that girl did. I congratulate her on her bravery and a job well done.

For right now, I want to share a part of my story, some of my words and my wisdom with anyone willing to read this blog. I hope you enjoy. Any and all feedback is highly welcomed.

Natura

Find the light within the dark

Seek the bright that tends to hide

Difficulty lurks with mesmerized parts

As obstacles begin to seem longer than ever

Slower the process

The payoff is on it

 

Honestly, honesty is the best policy

And while I’m keeping a steady pace, the beat remains

Day by day

Heartache and spoiled parts delay

Things never seem to go my way

But that’s okay

Because you said you’ll stay

 

Searching for a reason

That may never have existed in the first place

Right keys in wrong locks

All paths seem to cross

Although it isn’t always right

Hell doesn’t want us yet

So I must keep in sight

Erase the spite

It ain’t time to die

 

Honestly, honesty is the best policy

And while I’m keeping a steady pace, the beat remains

Day by day

Heartache and spoiled parts delay

Things never seem to go my way

But that’s okay

Because you said you’ll stay

 

Believe me, this ain’t easy

To admit my faults and go with the wind breeze

I think it’s mighty just to act lively

Who am I to judge,

When all we truly want in this world is someone to love?

 

Honestly, honesty is the best policy

And while I’m keeping a steady pace, the beat remains

Day by day

Heartache and spoiled parts delay

Things never seem to go my way

But that’s okay

Because you said you’ll stay

 

Fight to find the light within the dark

Seek the bright that tends to hide

Difficulty lurks with mesmerized parts

As obstacles begin to seem longer than ever

Slower the process

The payoff is on it

 

Destiny, call it what you may

Feelings of fear are the dwellings we strive by

Scared, unsure

Shortly paralyzed

But that’s all okay

Because you said you’ll stay

 

all rights reserved ©

Leave a Reply

